When Life Gets In The Way

storm_cloudsI haven’t blogged much, but in the past 3 weeks I haven’t done much to blog about. Fortunately, it’s not July and summer isn’t officially here yet, so I still have time to ramp up my running to reach the goals that I have this year.

Life has been demanding and stressful, and when that happens, the exercise seems to get tossed aside. I need to learn to manage stress and still keep active because in the time that I’ve stopped exercising, my mood has been terrible. I think that exercise definitely keeps me balanced, and it’s more beneficial for me to get out there in every way. It’s just soooo hard to pick myself up sometimes and stay motivated when you’re just feeling run down.

I need to run though. Running seems to be the only thing that I don’t have worry about. Even if it’s a slow run, it doesn’t cost me anything to lace up my shoes, breathe in fresh air, and take in the scenery. I just need to give myself a kick to get started and I think I’ll be okay.

So, with that being said, I’ve decided to try running with the Running Room. I’m not signing up for a clinic or anything, just going to participate in their runs that they do a couple of times a week. Maybe the heard mentality will pull me in the right direction, and if I meet some other running buddies, maybe they can hold me accountable for being there and that will force me off my behind.

Sometimes life throws a lot of curve balls, seemingly all at once. I need to learn to truck on through because feeling good about improving yourself physically generally has the waterfall effect of making you feel so much better in every other way too.

Now, important decisions…. This weekend, Carp…. Should I do 5k which I know I can do, or try my first 10K race on a course that I may not be able to do?

Leave a Reply

