Winter, GPS Watch, Cool Runs… Oh my!

A few people have asked me if I still run in the winter, and the answer is yes… absolutely. The first time I really got back in to running about 3 years ago (give or take), I had originally started running in the winter. This summer I was in to running probably more than I’ve ever been in my entire life, but I do find running in the heat challenging. I like winter. Yes, I know that might make me crazy, but I like the snow, the chilly nights, and the much much cooler runs.

When the temperatures dropped, I thought I’d actually finally hit that 30 minute 5k goal, but I didn’t really think about how much my body would need to get used to the weather. Oh well, my main goal is still just to get out there 3x a week. I’ve been running Fridays with K at work at lunch time. I’m grateful that she works so close, it makes me accountable to getting out there at least the days we go together, and it’s a lot more fun getting out there with with her, she makes it fun.

Another thing that’s been making it fun is using the new GPS watch that I got for my birthday. I got the Garmin Forerunner 10, in super duper girly pink. I was using mapmyrun on my phone for a while, which was great, but I don’t like carrying my phone around. I got a SPIBELT for my birthday from my mom, and my phone hardly fit in that… SO… The gps watch, and my teeny tiny iPod shuffle have been working out much better. Nothing to carry, and I can fit my keys in the SPIBELT, along with whatever else I would need if I were doing a race or whatnot.

And speaking of races, I have nothing planned this month, or in January, but I’ll probably see what I can find once the holidays are over.

I did end up getting out there today and it was a great day for it. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Winter, GPS Watch, Cool Runs… Oh my!

  1. Aha ! Richmond Road races are coming up in January.

Leave a Reply

