Rattle Me Bones – Zombie Run 5k

If a zombie apocalypse happens, I’m sticking with M since she finished the race with two flags still left on her belt. Way to go M!!! I finished with one. Only two limbs lost! I only need legs to run!

The Zombie Run 5k is part of the Ottawa Hospital’s Rattle Me Bones event. The run consists of 5 kilometres of running through grass and forest (tripping over roots and sliding around on mud), obstacles, and the hardest part, ZOMBIES. You get three flags that are on a belt around your waist, and as you run, the Zombies try to take your flags. The goal is to at least have one remaining flag on your belt, and you are a survivor. If you lose all your flags, you are infected. There are slow zombies (I love them), quicker zombies (scared me a little), and chaser zombies…. RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!!!!

While this run was really fun, I also found it to be really hard. I can run a straight 5k start to finish, and I can do it in what I think is a pretty good time, but this run… Well, I spent most of it walking trying to catch my breath! I had to walk between zombie attacks, but I guess when I think about it, in some cases you end up running close to half a kilometre at full tilt giving it everything you’ve got to keep your flags. Tough stuff!!!

I think it was a good challenge, and I think I would do it again, but I need to learn to sprint!!

Here’s M and I, with our survivor medals. πŸ™‚

Image

One thought on “Rattle Me Bones – Zombie Run 5k

  1. I hope you enjoyed it, and congratulations on Surviving! We Zombies had fun too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

