Trails and trails and trails

So, in the last few days, there have been a lot of coyote sightings around the trail that K and I usually run on at lunch time. They’ve been spotted during the day on the road near the entrance to the trail. From what I gather of coyotes, it’s highly unlikely that they’d actually attack a human, but knowing that they have been so close and spotted so frequently surely makes you feel a little uneasy about sharing their space. We were going to run it anyway, because we’ve run it every week for the past few weeks, and there were probably coyotes running around there then too.. BUT.. at the last minute we decided to do the Shirley’s Bay trail.

The trail itself is a 4KM loop, but we added extra distance running to the trail from the parking lot. I think it works out to a 5.5-6k loop. We stopped at 5, happy to just be done as today is just one of those days where you don’t feel like running, but you do it anyway. If it weren’t for K today, I’m sure I’d have gladly sat on my arse and not burnt off any of the extra food I’m going to consume tonight. Peach chicken… it’s the shit.

This is a diagram of today’s run:

Image

Putting my design skills to good use I have illustrated our run. I’m the blue/green one, and K is pink/purple, because she was wearing that colour. You see me at the end holding the white flag?

It was a good run for not feeling like running. And we saw tons of frogs, snakes, and even a deer. Thankfully, we did not see any coyotes.

When I was looking for map for this trail, I did come across a map for that trail, as well as several others, and thought I’d share for anyone who feels like they might like a hike, or a trail run in Ottawa. Enjoy, I know I did.

http://www.canadascapital.gc.ca/sites/default/files/pubs/nccgreenbelttrails-ceintureverduresentiersccn.pdf

Leave a Reply

